Rapture by Lauren Kate

Harry Mac by Russell Eldridge

Regular price $9.00 Sale

A beautiful coming-of-age story set in a year of political turmoil in South Africa. Tom and Millie are best friends, relying on each other to make sense of what's going on in their lives and in the lives of their families. Despite a life that is not always safe, Tom and Millie learn who and what is important. 'I can't help feeling the lane where we lived had something to do with it all. As though these families had been put there for a reason... it was so still, like everyone was holding their breath a lot of the time.' Tom and Millie are best friends who live in a quiet lane on the edge of town. They rely on each other to make sense of what's going on in their lives and in the lives of their families - especially Harry Mac's. Harry Mac, Tom's dad, is a man of silences and secrets. And now Tom is involved in one of those secrets. At school, Tom sits through lessons on the arms race and President Kennedy, waiting until he can be back on the lane where life is far more interesting: why does a black car drive slowly up the lane every night? And what did Harry Mac mean when he wrote in his newspaper 'people disappear in the night'? A series of shocking events and discoveries lead Tom closer to the truth, but threaten to tear his world apart. Set within a fascinating period of South African politics, this is a coming-of-age story full of heart, soul and hope, in the tradition of Jasper Jones and To Kill a Mockingbird. This 2015 Allen & Unwin Paperback is in Near Mint condition.

ISBN: 9781760113209 SKU: 1119252 Note: Any image shown is from a stock photo and is not the actual book.